About Me, SOC Sunday

SOC Sunday ~ 5/7/17

What a week!  Things have been even crazier than usual around The Lair this week.

Mini-Me had oral surgery to remove an impacted wisdom tooth and was put under for the first time on Wednesday.20170503_135622

Bless her heart.  She looks so pitiful all curled up on my couch and to Dutchess, our pug.

Overall, she handled it like a champ.  I got a video of her coming out with The Pain after it was over and a few more of the car ride after where she was laid over on my shoulder, petting my arm and telling me how soft my arm was, lol.  It reminded me of when she was little.

There’s been a lot going on with Paul’s job, too.  The store manager was at a seminar most of the last week and he was the fill-in manager while she was gone.  He worked over 50 hours in five days and finished off the week with nearly 60 hours.  Tonight he goes on 3rd shift for a least a few days, possibly for the week while the regular 3rd shift clerk is out with some medical issues.

Tonight he goes on 3rd shift for a least a few days, possibly for the week while the regular 3rd shift clerk is out with some medical issues.

13076846_1706324652955560_1706337904584486464_n
My beast

Chicklet had my truck off and on all week since the transmission went out on her truck at the beginning of the week, and went on a camping trip Friday and Saturday and came back yesterday evening.  And speaking of my truck, I got a Facebook notification the other day saying we’ve had the truck for a year now!

Having the house to ourselves would have been great, except, of course, Paul’s phone didn’t stop ringing.  Sometimes I think his number is the only one those people know!

Yesterday, Paul and I spent most of the day in the kitchen rearranging.  We’re in the process of doing a whole house reorganizing and the kitchen was the first stop.

To me, if my kitchen is out of sorts, then I can’t get, or keep, myself together.  I’ve been unhappy with the way the kitchen was set up since we moved in.  Nothing felt like it really had a home.  We moved in in such a rush due to weather issues last winter with it deciding to finally to snow while we were supposed to be moving that we just kind of crammed everything wherever we could fit it.  I’ve tried to organize it here and there since we moved in, but I finally realized that mild reorganizing wasn’t going to fix the problem.

I wish I’d gotten before and after pictures but with his phone ringing off the hook and him even having to leave for a couple of hours to go help with something at work, I forgot.

I still need to paint and redo the kitchen table, but just having it organized better and less cluttered has helped tremendously!

This morning while making coffee, I looked out the kitchen window, which has become

20170507_094124
Magnolia Bloom at The Lair Spring 2017

kind of a habit of mine and one of our two magnolia trees that are on the property is right outside that window.  I noticed that there are the beginnings of blooms all over it!

Of course, I should have known based on how congested I was when I woke up this morning.  I have chronic rhinitis and one of my worst allergy triggers is tree pollen, so this time of year, and again in the fall, are two of my worst times for allergies.

Ironically enough, Spring and Fall are my two most favorite seasons for the exact reason my allergies get so bad, lol.

That little pod though, that’s what’s got my allergies in such an uproar this morning!

But, they are beautiful when they bloom (Magnolias and Weeping Willows are my two favorite trees) and allergies or no, I feel blessed to have two rather large ones on our property.

Well, that’s been the highlights of my week.  What have you been up to this week?  I love to hear from you, so leave me a comment and give me some of the highlights of your week!

fire-2134185_960_7201

 

Leave a Reply

