About Me, Easter/Ostara, Family Stuff, Holidays, My Family, SOC Sunday, Uncategorized

SOC Sunday ~ Weekly Dump

So, what is SOC Sunday?  Some of you may have seen a SOC post on other blogs.  There are a few of them out there, not all of them on Sunday, but for those who don’t know, let me explain.

Stream of Consciousness is supposed to be where you just write whatever is in your heart or on your mind as it comes to you.  No specific topic, at least not to start with (I usually find that my mind picks it’s own main topic while I write).  It’s a mind-dump.  No editing, beyond fixing typos.

*Note:  I’ve found it difficult sometimes to get this post done in real-time on Sundays and get it posted by a decent time, so going into the future, SOC Sunday will be like a weekly dump of “what happened this week” and will be posted on the Sunday after it’s written.


I’m running behind today, which seems to be the story of my life.  My kids laugh that I’ll be late to my own funeral, and I probably will be.

This week has had a lot of Spring Cleaning involved, and not just the physical kind.  It’s been spiritual, too.

I have been off my path for a long time and I finally started to see how it was affecting all the other aspects of my life. My relationships with those I love, my relationship with my home….it’s all interconnected.  When I get off the path too far spiritually, the rest seems to start to fall apart as well.

So this morning, I took some advice from my sister of the heart, Timber Leaves, and went out on the porch for a while.

While there wasn’t much sun on our porch this morning, I did get to enjoy the sights, sounds, and scents of nature.  I heard more wildlife than I saw although I did enjoy watching a carpenter bee making its way lazily from bud to bud on our apple tree.

Apple Tree
The Apple Tree in our front yard

It was peaceful, and just what I needed.  That’s one of the things I love about my sister-of-the-heart, she understands me and my needs, even before I do sometimes.

Before the day was out, I actually ended up out on the porch a few times.  DH and the oldest were doing some yard work and even cleared out around the bottom of the magnolia tree.

My hope is that the front yard will be ready for next Sunday so that Squishy has somewhere to hunt eggs.

In other news, my Dad is seeing someone.  She sounds like a lovely woman but this is new territory for me and I’m not completely sure what to do with it.

Mom has been gone for nearly 4 years, and I know he’s lonely.  I’m being as supportive as I know how to be and even extended an invitation to the cookout next Sunday.  Dad said she has things with her church and her siblings going on and probably won’t come, but I did offer, so I felt good about that.

I managed to hurt myself on Monday while taking Mini-Me and her family out to do some stuff, so I’m struggling to get on track with everything.  The blog is beginning to grow slowly, almost on its own so now I find myself looking at scheduling things in advance to give me a little more time to write and get things rolling around here.  Wish me luck in getting into the swing of things!

 

 

Leave a Reply

