Self-Care

Self-Care

I know, most people start their blogs with an “About Me” post. I decided to do that post later and to, instead, post about something very important to me. Self-Care.

I’ve always been a believer in the importance of caring for yourself, as well as your family, and not just your family.

When we pour everything we have, everything we are, into another person  (or people) -as we tend to do as parents and partners, we are giving away something important and it has to be replaced.  Without replenishing ourselves, we drain ourselves.

When we practice regular self-care, it allows us to give something back to ourselves to recharge our batteries, and it keeps us from getting worn down, and eventually resenting the people we care about.

I try to make self-care part of my daily routine, but failing that, at least a few times a week.

As a Pisces, there are a few things I need desperately when it comes to self-care.  One is some quality alone time.  I’m not much of a people-person by nature beyond my family anyway, but I find myself needing to step away even from them from time to time.  I need time to myself to just be me.  Not the me that wears all the hats and fulfills all the responsibilities, just me.  When my time is consumed by people outside my Tribe (what I call my family), I need it even more.

Bathtub Clipart

Water.  Be it the lake, a pool or even just the bathtub, I need that time in the water. Also, if it’s here at home in the tub, it has to be as hot as my body can stand it.

20170312_230910
My own blend of bath salts

 

This is part of my cleansing and grounding ritual anyway.  As an empath, it’s important to get the “funk” of other people’s emotions off of me.  A feat that can really only be completely obtained through either natural running water or peel your skin off, hot water.

 

20170311_021740
Homemade lavender bath bombs

 

When I was young, I had no clue how important caring for my skin properly would become when I got older.  I cared for my skin, as in, I washed my face and body but that was about the extent of that.  Now, I look in the mirror and I realize how beneficial a good skin-care routine would have been in my youth.  I do it now, all the way down to exfoliating and moisturizing and toning, but I do wish I’d done this more when I was younger.  My skin might have been more youthful in appearance now that I’m in my 40’s if I had.

Sugar Scrubs BS&V
Homemade Sugar Scrubs

I admit, other than keeping my hair clean and conditioned, I don’t do much else with it most days.  I prefer to let it be natural without a ton of products on it unless I’m dressing up to go out somewhere more than the grocery store.

I’ve found that it’s important to let your body breathe.  Less really can be more when it comes to dumping a bunch of chemicals all over your body, which has a lot to do with why I started making my own products instead of using the store-bought stuff.

So that’s a peek inside my self-care ritual.  What do you do to care for yourself?

cropped-life-of-a-hearth-witch-banner1.jpg

5 thoughts on “Self-Care”

  1. Have you ever looked into Lush Cosmetics? I only heard of them recently and received a few items from there for Christmas. A bath bomb and natural face scrub. I loved each product so much I can’t wait to go back for me. Each product is against animal testing, they even have a “save the animals” logo on their products and explain how each product container is fully recycled and if you bring 3 clean containers back, you get a 4th free. I really enjoy their natural selection of face scrubs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t tried Lush, but I have heard of them. I personally prefer to make my own, but I hear that they’re one of the top companies in the industry. Even people with home-based bath and body businesses seem to consider them the company “to beat”.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving your thoughts! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

